Help your Hair Survive Summer

As the daughter of a hairstylist I feel like I’ve actually always been in-the-know when it comes to hair. My friends always come up to me asking what are good products for their hair type or what they’re doing wrong. Well I’ve come to you my internet friends to tell you something you probably already knew: Heat is bad! But when it comes to summer, sometimes you feel like you can’t get away from it. And all those dips in the chlorine-filled pool do not make it any better! Here are some of my favorite products to use during the summer and some tips on how to maintain your fresh summer locks.

First up, It’s a 10. Literally a 10/10. This product I like to use when I need to leave the house but my hair is still wet/ damp. Using this I know my hair won’t puff up and it’ll keep its natural wave and enhance it a bit. Plus, it smells pretty freakin’ good.

Image result for it's a ten spray

Tresemme Moisture Rich Conditioner. I typically like to use a color-protecting salon brand shampoo and conditioner but when I am going swimming or getting my hair wet for any reason I like to use this conditioner to protect my hair. I know it may seem a little weird but I swear it works. All you do is take a decent amount (because whom really only  uses a dime sized amount?), run it through your hair and make sure you get the ends specifically and either put it in a bun or braid it! Once you’re done swimming your hair won’t even feel like it touched the chlorine.

Image result for tresemme conditioner luxurious moisture

For overnight/ fast waves I like to use mousse. This one I picked because it’s the best smelling one in my opinion and it holds throughout the day without feeling stiff or dry. It either roll my hair into a bun at the top of my head or two vertical buns when my hair it cut short and put the mousse on after. If I put it on before I tie it, the waves will look more like wires (lol). This also holds fly aways and baby hairs pretty well, too! Hair gel is too heavy for my hair type.

Image result for herbal essences mousse

Did you guys know that “Hair-screen” is a thing? This is a lifesaver! It hydrates, protects your hair and leaves it smooth to the touch. My larger than normal sized head is not the most suited for hats so I have to rely on this during the summer, which I totally don’t mind.

I had to bring in a leave-in conditioner for those weekends that you weren’t particularly nice to your hair. A little goes a long way with this one or your hair will start to feel weighed down so tread carefully. It will fool you into thinking you haven’t used a hair iron for months.

Image result for living proof leave in conditioner

Last but not least, CHI! I have not gone without this since I was introduced to it by my lovely mother in middle school. I like to use this after I’ve used heat on my hair and the ends feel a little dry. It’s very oily so do not get it near your roots or you’ll feel like a grease-ball all day. A dime sized amount will do just fine (I know what I said earlier, but this is an exception) and I have very thick hair. Smells real good, too.

Image result for chi silk infusion

There you have it folks! Using these products has helped my hair survive the Texas summer heat waves for years and I’m passing the torch to you now, spread the word!

Leave a comment